The Editing Process

When I read Brandi’s description of her wedding planning, it really struck a chord with me. I think “editing” your wedding is one of the most important, and most challenging, aspects of planning a wedding. 

Sad but true: as much as we want to, brides cannot do everything. Trying to do so leads to mild insanity and nervous breakdowns (please don’t ask T how I know!!). Which means that at some point, if you want to make it to the wedding with all mental faculties intact, you have to do two important things: editing and delegating.

With any event, whether that’s a small birthday party or something as major as a wedding, I’ve found that there are usually one or two things that you personally care the most about, things that are closest to your heart. These may or may not be “big ticket” things in the strictest sense of the phrase, but they are the things you’re willing to put the most resources into, whether that’s time, money, effort, or all three.

For me, I discovered that three things were the most important to me: the venue, the paper products, and planning something “traditional” but still personal. T and I are both pretty traditional people, so I knew I wouldn’t be wearing a red dress or walking down the aisle to a country song, but I wanted a celebration that didn’t feel cookie cutter, which included finding a venue that fit that description.

Dressing-Room-Sign

As planned, mostly charcoal/white for the ceremony signs

The paper products are probably my biggest “big ticket” item, which isn’t really surprising when you know what kind of excited I get about paper stores!! We spent an inordinate amount of time making the invites, and will spend more on the favors, but I would make the same choice in a heartbeat, because not only did I save money and get exactly what I wanted, but I am really, really proud of them. It gives me warm fuzzies every time someone praises them (and I will admit to a quick mental pat on the back 🙂 ) because I know how much work they took, and I’m excited that we pulled it off!

For the rest, that’s where delegation and more editing comes in. Some things, like the music, I care a LOT about, but have really great musicians with lovely initiative, and I trust them to make it happen. Some things, like flowers, I don’t really care that much about, so we’re ordering bulk, tying some ribbon around them, and calling it done. Others, like tissue paper pomanders, were originally in the plan, but got modified (flower strings with less flower assembly required!) or cut entirely to make time for the things I care about the most.

I can’t say that all this editing and delegating has made me stress-free, but I’m discovering that concentrating my time and energy on the things that matter to me does help. Hopefully I’ll get even better at it over the next month, and can make the wedding week as low-stress as possible!!

Published in: on May 18, 2009 at 9:43 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/05/18/the-editing-process/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

