The Invitations

Almost all of our guests should now have received their invitations, so I decided to go ahead and share my big project for the last couple of weeks!

For those few who haven’t, I’m including most of the pics after the jump, so they can choose to be surprised if they want 🙂

Here’s the last batch, ready to go out the door!

We ended up splurging on custom stamps, since the wedding stamps didn’t really match our color scheme (sorry for the blurry pic, it seems my camera doesn’t like close-ups):

And now for my favorite part, the actual invites:

As I mentioned before, I ended up decided to do the calligraphy myself. They may not have ended up quite as perfect as Jenn’s, which are so lovely, but it was far less stress for me!!

I designed everything in InDesign and Photoshop, with supplies from lots of sources! The invitations and inserts were letterpressed at Pyramid Atlantic, and everything else was printed on my laser printer.

The red “C” monogram at the top of the invites and response cards is the reason I was waiting on the custom stamp. In order to avoid having to do a two-color letterpress run, I stamped each card with the monogram (and only messed up on one!).

We decided to print our website address on the back of the belly band, which would have been dead space anyway, rather than including yet another enclosure.

By the time everything was put together, I was totally in love with the Paper Source paper, and will be using it throughout the rest of the suite.

The reception card is one of my favorite pieces, because the thick swirls make the impression really noticeable. 

Finally, I created a wrap-around label to match the envelope liners, using a damask pattern courtesy of Pixels & Ice Cream. I’m happy to share the editable PS template.

Designing and producing the invitations was definitely the source  of a lot of headaches, but I’m so glad I did it. I was able to get exactly what I wanted, for a fraction of the cost, plus, I got to learn letterpress!! And people actually like them! I was a little worried about that at first, since they’re not the pastels-and-hearts kind of wedding-y. But once I saw everything together, I felt about the invites like I did about my ring: I loved it so much that it didn’t really matter to me if other people did too, but it still gave me a little frisson of joy when they did “get” my vision.

Did you design your own invites? Are you happy with the result, or was it more of a headache than it was worth?

P.S. Major kudos to Jenn & Jessica, who also created their own invites (and they’re both gorgeous!) — high five to Jenn on getting everything done too, and congrats to Jessica, who will be getting married on Saturday!

Published in: on April 30, 2009 at 10:51 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/04/30/the-invitations/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s so fantastic you did these yourself. They’re amazing!

  2. Absolutely stunning! I love the swirly flourish that’s carried throughout the whole suite. Wonderful work! You should be so proud 🙂

  3. Thanks, ladies! The whole process was pretty labor-intensive, so it’s nice to hear positive feedback!


Leave a Reply

