Lia & Shaun’s Wedding – Guanacaste, Costa Rica

First of all, congrats to Lia and Shaun, who were married this past Saturday in Costa Rica! I worked with Shaun on a client project for my day job, and when he and Lia were looking for a day-of coordinator (DOC), they gave me a call.

Last Wednesday morning, I headed to the airport at far-too-early-to-be-up to catch a flight to Costa Rica. It was my first time in the country, so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Well, whatever I was expecting, the airport wasn’t it. It gave a new meaning to “air”port!!

This is on the way out, but it gives you an idea of the setup:

{All photos from the author’s personal collection}

The area around the airport was surprisingly arid. Once I finally made my way through customs, however, and got transportation to the Hilton Papagayo Resort, I got to see more of the tropics I was expecting:

I didn’t do a lot of exploring, though, because I got right to work meeting with the hotel staff and putting together welcome bags for the 100+ guests:

The next few days were busy with wedding events and preparations. With such a large group, there are always things that crop up, but things went relatively smoothly. Although the forecast had called for rain, the day of the wedding dawned bright and sunny.

The ceremony was held in a shaded area on the beach, with a poolside reception following.

Lia chose chocolate and turquoise as her wedding colors, set off with lovely tropical brights for the florals.

As the sun set, the waiters lit votives and the guests dined by candlelight:

The wedding went well, although as with any event, we did have a few adventures, like…

The tall floral arrangement that became a low table display after a HUGE gust of wind caught the (weighted) cylinder vase and brought it crashing down minutes before the ceremony…

…and the father of the bride managing to fall into the pool halfway through the reception, prompting the entire bridal party (including the bride in her Vera Wang dress!!) to jump in, in a show of support.

All in all, it was a lovely wedding, and the guests enjoyed the gorgeous setting and time to celebrate with Shaun and Lia. I actually made some great contacts, so hopefully I’ll get to head down there again for another wedding sometime soon! Or maybe, T and I can head down there after the wedding for some relaxation of our own!

Published in: on April 28, 2009 at 11:06 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/04/28/lia-shauns-wedding-guanacaste-costa-rica/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

