Reminders

Today I’m fighting bridezilla moments. After my initial anxiety about getting the big decisions made, I feel like I’ve done pretty well with not letting my inner control freak take over and make everyone’s life miserable. Today, though, I’m struggling. T’s best man is in the area for work, so we’re going to see him tonight, and to the best of my knowledge he hasn’t gotten measured for his tux. At the moment, the voice in my head is having an imaginary row with him, along the lines of “What do you mean you haven’t gotten measured yet?? At this rate, you’re going to be wearing SWEATPANTS for the ceremony!! Are you trying to ruin my wedding??” However, since I don’t want to ruin his visit by nagging about the tux, it will remain an imaginary row.

But then I read this post, and it made me feel better. I still want to yell, just a little bit, but at least I have a reminder of why I’m putting myself through this. I love the question Abby asked at the end of her post. She didn’t ask “what made your proposal perfect?” She asked “what made your proposal perfect for you?” Big difference. When T and I got engaged, we had just had two of the worst days of our entire relationship. Like, I literally cried myself to sleep for the first time I can ever remember. And it was totally outside our control. When we finally saw the light at the end of the tunnel, T just dropped to one knee in the middle of our church parking lot and proposed. It wasn’t the elaborate proposal he’d been planning, but it was perfect for us. We’ve had a lot of obstacles to overcome as a couple, and we’ve definitely got the whole “for better or for worse” thing down pat already, and it felt a little like our life together — maybe not exactly what we planned initially, but at the end of the day, being together is the most important part. Our faith is a big part of our lives, so the location ended up being just right also, and I was so relieved that I started laughing and crying at the same time, and laughed for at least two minutes straight after he proposed (which sounds terrible, but he knew me well enough to know it was just emotion overload).

As Meg would say, eyes on the prize. I guess tux measurements really don’t matter so much –two months and two weeks from yesterday, I’ll be walking down the aisle to marry my favorite person ever. I doubt I’ll notice if the best man is even wearing a tux!

Published in: on April 6, 2009 at 12:21 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/04/06/reminders/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m glad I could make a difference 🙂


Leave a Reply

