Registry Angst

Is anyone else having registry angst? T and I registered, and then I started having economy guilt about having registered. I mean, people are losing their jobs…why do I really need new tea towels?? But I also feel like people might give gifts anyway, and I know I personally love registries, because I know I’m giving the couple something they definitely want. 

So I took an axe to the registry, and cut the most expensive stuff. But I still feel a little bit of registry angst. Anyone else sharing this boat with me?

Published in: on March 26, 2009 at 4:25 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/03/26/registry-angst/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I had wanted to register for the kinds of really nice things that we definitely wouldn’t buy for ourselves but would get lots of enjoyment from. I don’t as much feel guilt about registering for expensive things in this economy as much as realism that we probably won’t get most of them, and what’s the point of half a set of china? So we’ve downsized quite a bit.

  2. Here’s my take on it – because I’m totally feeling you on this one: http://eatdrinkmarry.blogspot.com/2009/01/on-gifting.html

  3. […] Remember when we took the china off our registry because we felt like it was a frivolous thing to ask our guests for in this economy? And took the flatware off for the same reason? Well, T’s aunts decided that we should have china and flatware, so one aunt and uncle, along with their children and respective spouses, went in together and bought us an entire set of flatware. Another aunt, uncle, children and respective spouses also went in and actually bought us an entire 58-piece set of china. I cry at everything, but I was so shocked and touched that honestly, I couldn’t really react at all! I mean, I think I did, but it definitely had a hard time sinking in. The china we got was, unbelievably enough, actually a pattern that we had looked at initially, Mikasa Parchment: […]

  4. I was very happy to find this site. I wanted to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely enjoyed every part of it and i also have you saved to fav to look at new stuff in your web site.


Leave a Reply

