Happy Wedding Tears!

Over the course of the wedding planning so far, I have definitely cried some tears (don’t even ask poor T how many). But yesterday I cried happy wedding tears for the first time!

Some background: I’ve been singing since high school, and music is so very important to me. Well, any of you who perform know that by the time you do a piece in concert, you’ve rehearsed it so many times that you could sing it in your sleep, and are just a little sick of it. Well, there was one song that I sang back in high school that still gave me chills when we performed it: Erev Shel Shoshanim (Evening of Roses), an Israeli love song (English translation).

Well, you know me and wedding traditions. The first time I heard it, I decided right then and there that I was going to walk down the aisle to that song. Fast forward a decade or so, and I realized that maybe I did want at least something of the traditional wedding music, but I knew I still had to have “my song” in the wedding. So, that’s going to be the processional song.

We go to church with our harpist, and yesterday a group of people were standing around talking when I overheard her playing a few notes of something. I went over to check it out, and she restarted what she was playing: the first few bars of Erev Shel Shoshanim. It was hauntingly, stunningly beautiful, and I immediately started tearing up. In fact, just remembering makes me want to tear up now. I can’t wait for everyone to hear it on our wedding day.

These “yay, happy wedding” moments are coming more often now, in relation to the “grumpy, stressful wedding” moments, so hopefully the trend will continue. Three months and a few days — yay!!

Published in: on March 16, 2009 at 11:20 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/03/16/my-first-happy-wedding-tears/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

