DIY Weekend

I’m planning a productive wedding weekend. With the clock ticking on the Vintage Glam and SMP DIY contests (SMP deadline is midnight Sunday now extended a week!), I’m going to have a DIY weekend! I’m planning on making “prototypes” for as many of the wedding projects as I can, and using those to assess the likelihood of them actually getting done by the weekend!

In the plans are samples of:

  • Kiddie party favors
  • Reception direction/favor car mirror tags
  • Organza flower bouts and pins
  • Mini tissue paper pomanders
  • Reception booklets (I’m dying to try out my new Crop-a-dile!)
  • Possibly one or two other ideas floating around in my head…

I’m also going to be meeting with Lorraine, the catering manager at Tavern-on-the-Circle, which is on the property of The Brick Hotel, and will be catering our reception. I’m hoping to find just the right blend of interesting and familiar for the hors d’oeuvres. Also, since we won’t be having alcohol at the wedding, Lorraine and I are going to be brainstorming ideas for a signature punch for the toasts.

I know we want to go with something fun and summery, maybe a flavored lemonade-type drink…I’m loving this raspberry-orange spritzer:

orangeraspdrink
{Cooking Single via TasteSpotting}

or, since half of our relatives and friends are from the South, Lorraine also suggested some type of tea punch, like this citrus-y mint tea punch:

teapunch
{allrecipes.com}

I’ll be back on Monday with DIY project pics! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Published in: on March 13, 2009 at 3:17 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/03/13/diy-weekend/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you so much for featuring my drink on your blog! What a nice surprise. I’ve enjoyed browsing your blog. Very nice. I’ll be back!

  2. So can’t wait to see how your organza flowers turn out! And SMP just extended the contest 🙂


Leave a Reply

