Flower Details

So I told you yesterday that I finally made a decision on flowers, but I realized that I never told you what that was!

After much deliberation, and realizing that the smell of gardenias gives me a headache (they’re so pretty though! *sigh*), and seeing this post, I have decided to go with cream roses for my bouquet:

roses

April Smith Photography, via EAD

The bridesmaids will still be carrying carnations:

carnations
via MS

The bonus with using roses for my bouquet now? I’m going to order the roses and carnations in bulk from The Flower Exchange (free shipping!) for less than the cost of the original bouquet I considered, for 100 roses! Which means that I’ll have leftovers, which brings me to the revised reception florals (only slightly revised, don’t worry!).

My original plan was to use some type of red flower (probably dahlias) in bud vases. However, since I’ll now have a bunch of roses left over from my bouquet, I’ll just use those at the reception. Which means that I get my bouquet flowers and the reception flowers in one fell swoop, for a really great price!

I was looking through my new Colin Cowie book, which is amazing (yay SW Mag!), and came across a photo of roses packed tightly in a vintage tin (I just wasted way too long looking for a photo, so I’ll have to scan it and share later). If you remember, I’m going to use a vintage tin as a card box, so I figured that would be perfect to supplement the bud vases!

boxstackofboxes
Both via Country Living

So I’ll be looking for red bud vases now (or maybe just wrap glass vases with red ribbon?), and we’re just going to switch the colors. I think we’ll use the bud vases with votives on the tall cocktail tables, and the tins, along with floating candles in vases, on the cafe tables. I was just reminded of a really big thrift store nearby that always has acres of glassware, so I’m going to do my first scouting mission soon!

Published in: on March 4, 2009 at 12:05 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/03/04/flower-details/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Leika, try experimenting with red food coloring and water in a clear vase! I don’t think it will change the color of the rose. 🙂

  2. Thanks, that’s a great idea!


Leave a Reply

