Protocol Prompts: “Man-of-Honor”

Since I love etiquette so much, and those seem to be the questions that brides always have, I thought I’d start doing a weekly post with wediquette tips.

This week’s tip is from Anna Post, Emily Post’s great-great-granddaughter. She just published her latest wediquette book, Do I Have to Wear White? Emily Post Answers America’s Top Wedding Questions.

In keeping with the wedding party alternative concepts that have been making the rounds this week (see Jenny’s and Lauren’s brilliant ideas on A Practical Wedding), check out the Q&A on having a male honor attendant.

A snippet:

“It’s fine to have a close guy friend as part of your bridal party, and whether they are filling a “bridesmaid” role or even the “maid-of-honor” role, they are typically called an “honor attendant.”

…And no, he does not carry a bouquet!”

I’m going with a pretty traditional bridal party — we do have uneven numbers of men and women, but not by design. I will admit that the concept of other arrangements is fetching, however. Are you doing anything unusual?

Published in: on February 27, 2009 at 9:29 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/02/27/protocol-prompts-man-of-honor/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am thinking about not having any attendants at all, which is a mind-blower for me. My first wedding had 9 on both sides! But now we are going to be so scaled back that I a thinking, instead of having to pick 1 or 2 people out of all the people I love, I just might not pick anyone.

    *love* the idea of a weekly wedding etiquette post!!

  2. I say go for it! Nothing says that you have to have one — after all, the whole point originally was to confuse evil spirits, so as long as you haven’t been making any spirit enemies… 😉
    You could also go with your own version of a Bridal Brigade, which idea I adore!! Nobody says people have to wear matching dresses for you to recognize them on the day!


Leave a Reply

