I’m Back Too!

Earlier this week, I talked about T’s discovery that he cares more about the details of the wedding than he thought. I just realized that I never shared my own personal wedding epiphany from this week.

I was talking to a friend the other day about the wedding, and was telling her that I had just realized that somewhere along the way, without my really noticing, “bride Leika” decided to take a hike. This is not as bad as it sounds. Actually, it’s wonderful. Because sometime over the past month, I rediscovered my inner event coordinator. And “planner Leika” is WAY more decisive and pulled-together than “bride Leika” was. (As a side note, I’m not really one of those annoying people who refers to myself in the third person on a regular basis. This is just the easiest way to describe it!)

Early in the wedding planning process (is there such a thing as “early” in a six-month planning timeframe?), I was talking to a friend about how I didn’t like this whole planning something for myself thing, because I couldn’t find the level of detachment I needed to plan it sanely.

Well, sometime in the last few weeks, I found that detachment. Not that I don’t care about the wedding or anything. But I started being able to look at like I do any other event. I don’t know exactly what the trigger was. But I feel like you do when you’re running, and power through the moment when you hit the wall. For a little while there, you really don’t think you’re going to make it. But all of a sudden, you can breathe again. And your body doesn’t feel like it’s about to give out on you. And the whole thing feels worth it again.

I’ve gotten my second wedding wind. I think a part of me was a little afraid that I would be paralyzed by indecision forever, so it’s quite a relief to be back to my normal, decisive, organized self. Thanks to each of you who offered encouragement, both online and off, during my stint as “bride Leika.” You’re wonderful! And now that the “real me” is back, look forward to lots more fun details from our wedding and others, coming soon! Happy Friday!

Published in: on February 27, 2009 at 9:48 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/02/27/im-back-too/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

