My Letterpress Quest

So, talking to my dad is apparently trouble. You would think that he would be the practical one about the wedding. Dads usually are. You would be wrong.

My parents and I talk almost every morning when I’m on my way in to work — they’re the only other people crazy enough to be up and moving at 6 am (!), and it gives us a chance to catch up before our normally hectic days start.

This morning, after chatting about the latest political happenings (yes, for those of you who know me, I do sometimes talk about politics — but only when I know it’s not going to turn into a shouting match!), we got to talking about the wedding, which you can imagine is a frequent topic of discussion.

Somehow, we started talking about the concept of practical weddings. Now, turns out my dad doesn’t really believe in them. To quote him, “a wedding isn’t practical anyway, so you might as well do what you want.” He did stipulate that “what you want” should be “within reason.” In the course of this conversation, my utter adoration of letterpress came up. Now, as you know, I’ve given up on letterpress for the sake of practicality. However, my dad’s subversive arguments got me thinking again.

No, don’t worry, I’m not going to suddenly go out and blow our budget on those invites from Ceci New York or something. However, I am now on a mini-quest to fit at least a little letterpress into our budget. Is it still practical if I take a letterpress class, so I’ll be learning a useful skill at the same time? I don’t know. Am I a practicality sellout if I have just the invite printed? I think I will be pondering the philosophical quandary all weekend…thanks, Dad!

P.S. There actually is a letterpress studio in Silver Spring. Which is practically on my way home. And that would still be making them myself, right?

Published in: on February 20, 2009 at 10:29 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/02/20/my-letterpress-quest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey check out Studio on Fire– they do tons of smaller letterpress projects (business cards, etc). I am not sure if they are expensive or not, but man they do cool stuff.

    Here is their piece about trying to make letterpress as affordable as possible:

    http://www.beastpieces.com/2009/02/affordable-letterpress-wedding-invitations/

  2. Yes…they were definitely on the short list for someone else to do it. However, I’m really getting excited about learning to letterpress myself. I may not love it as much as I think I will, and in that case, it’s back to considering options. Will keep you updated on the adventures in letterpress!


Leave a Reply

