Wedding Words I

Continuing the series on our wedding word inspiration…

While I was still fighting with the TLC logo, I started looking for wedding readings. Apparently I’m more sentimental than I thought, because I fell in love with bunch of them. One that really stood out to me, though, was “I Promise,” by Dorothy Colgan (via Today’s Weddings):

I promise to give you the best of myself
and to ask of you no more than you can give.

I promise to respect you as your own person
and to realize that your interests, desires and needs
are no less important than my own. I promise to share with you my time and my attention
and to bring joy, strength and imagination to our relationship.

I promise to keep myself open to you,
to let you see through the window of my world
into my innermost fears and feelings, secrets and dreams. I promise to grow along with you,
to be willing to face changes in order to keep
our relationship alive and exciting.

I promise to love you in good times and bad,
with all I have to give and all I feel inside
in the only way I know how,
completely and forever.

Something about this poem totally resonated. I could go on about each line of the poem, but I won’t do that to you – I’ll just pick two. First, the second and third lines of the third verse. T and I both tend toward being reserved, so being open with each other is one of our biggest promises and expressions of trust. Second, I love the second line of the last verse – it separates giving (and implied, doing) from feeling, which I think is one of our most important ideas about love, that it’s something you do, not just something you feel.

It’s the last line, though, that I found inspiring from a design standpoint. I could totally see that phrase appearing on the stationary, etc. Occupational hazard of being a communicator: you’re always on the lookout for sound bites! I still wanted to work the “TLC” in someplace, so later tonight… more on how I brought the two ideas together, and some draft designs!

Published in: on February 10, 2009 at 3:27 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/wedding-words-i/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

