The Brick Hotel

So…on to the venue contender!

The Brick Hotel is a new hotel in Georgetown, DE, also about 30 minutes from our ceremony location. The hotel is located in historic downtown Georgetown, “on the circle.” It was built in 1836, replacing a public house, and is on the National Register. There’s lots more about their interesting history on their website.

They just opened in December after a year-long restoration, and the property is gorgeous (not that I’m obsessed with historic houses or anything)!! They do have at least one claim to fame in their short time in operation: they opened early for one weekend in November to host guests and events for Return Day (What is Return Day, you ask? That’s ok, I didn’t know either, but it’s a big deal around here), guests who included the governor and his family!

I called the Brick Hotel on a whim, and am so glad I did! I called Lynn, the owner (along with her husband Ed), and she was lovely on the phone, and just as great on Saturday, when I had to reschedule once because I was running late, and then ended up 10 minutes late anyway! Lynn and Ed have done a great job with the place, which they totally gutted and renovated in just a year! Here are a few pics from around the inn:

The Lobby

The Lobby

View 1 of the Main Dining Room

View 1 of the Main Dining Room

View 2 of the Main Dining Room

View 2 of the Main Dining Room

Side Yard, Before Landscaping (coming this spring)

Side Yard, before landscaping (coming this spring)

Guest Porch

Guest Porch

And (drumroll please), the rooftop, the top contender for reception space at the Brick (the main dining room being the other option):

View 1, from the door

View 1, from the door

View 2, from one end of the roof

View 2, from one end of the roof

View 3, from the other end, angled toward the door

View 3, from the other end, angled toward the door

View 4, the corner of the roof from which View 2 was taken

View 4, the corner of the roof from which View 2 was taken

That’s owner Lynn in View 3, trying to stay warm in the wind! It being winter, there is a lot missing from the setup (Ed and Lynn are planning to add a lot more plants once the weather gets warm enough to keep them alive), but this is the general layout. Imagine it at night with candles and scattered seating areas, a la:

There are also two other seating areas inside that we can use:

The Landing, just inside the door (sorry for the image quality)

The Landing, at the bottom of the stairs up to the 3rd floor

The Parlor, where breakfast is served each morning

The Parlor, where breakfast is served each morning

I love that it’s a historic building, I LOVE that is has character, and I love Lynn. She was with me on vision all the way, and she actually believed me when I said we didn’t want alcohol! It’s the same distance from the ceremony that Heritage Shores is, and they’re willing to give people time to grab their purses at the end of the party, rather than summarily kicking everyone out the second the booked time is over. On the flip side, the food is a little more expensive than Heritage Shores, but it’s definitely more interesting. The bathrooms are on the first floor, which means trekking down two flights of stairs or waiting for the elevator. Same thing on the way up. It’s not as “grand” as Heritage Shores, but I don’t know that that’s a bad thing. And I’m trying to get better about trying to please everyone (T showed me a quotation yesterday reminding us that trying to please everyone is the quickest road to failure, or something along those lines), but I’m still worried that people will think our reception is strange if we have it on the rooftop of an inn.

Finally, in the pluses column: I just loved it. It made the absolutely lovely Heritage Shores pale in comparison. Not for any particular reason. To go back to the ring analogy, I just felt the way I felt when I finally found my ring — like it was just, by some indefinable quality, perfect.

However…T hasn’t seen either in person. And he may have the same reaction to Heritage Shores that I did to the Brick Inn. He tends to like things a little more ornate than I do (we call it the “diamonds vs. pearls” factor). Although, a good sign is that the only picture he commented on when I was uploading pics last night was one of the porch at the Brick Hotel.

Despite the Brick Hotel’s more expensive food, I think that once we run the numbers, they’ll be neck and neck because of the extra fees at Heritage Shores. I hope the Brick Hotel will pull ahead, because as I look back over what I just wrote, it seems pretty clear that this is where I really want to have the reception, even though some people probably will think it’s a little unusual. We’ll see…

Published in: on February 2, 2009 at 1:31 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/02/02/the-brick-hotel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have tell you, I LOVE this idea. It would be beautiful, with the candlelight and the open air. And who cares if people think it’s “unusual”??? It’s your wedding! You and T could never be mistaken for being ordinary. (that’s a good thing!) I don’t imagine the celebration of your marriage will be either. =)

  2. Thanks! At least we know you’ll enjoy it, even if the sentiment isn’t universal!!!

  3. ok, seems to me like you’ve already made the decision. i think this works much better with your vision, and if you’ve both already agreed on that, then i don’t see the debate. i LOVE the idea of a rooftop reception.

  4. Aw, thanks! You ladies are making me feel better about the reaction! I’m running the numbers now — things look good for the Brick!


Leave a Reply

