The Take Away

I’m feeling a little conflicted about favors. You know me, I want something interesting (not run-of-the-mill) and something “us.” So no Jordan almonds or anything like that.

My original idea, when we first started talking about the wedding (ok, confession, I’d been imagining this for a while,ย  I just didn’t suggest it to T until we started talking about the wedding!), was to do handpainted stemware. I thought it would be something fun and unusual-and appropriate for a cocktail reception-for people to use and then take home with them. It’s something that’s very personal, but would still be something people could use after the event, unlike anything with our picture, names, or wedding date.

Handpainted goblet from Ryell Design

Handpainted goblet from Ryell Design

I still love this idea. And kind of want to use it. But the more I think about it, the more I get concerned with getting 200 goblets painted by June, in addition to all of the other wedding projects we’re going to be working on. Even splitting them up between a bunch of people, that’s still at least 25 or so per person. Can I really ask anyone to paint that many glasses? Argh. So I’m kind of leaning toward scrapping the idea. Am I alone in thinking I may be biting off more than I can chew?

If I’m not, the next question is…what in the world do I do for favors??? My personal rules are no personal information (no photos, names, etc), nothing that won’t be genuinely either a) enjoyable right then or b) useful after the fact (cause really? I’ve never found a use for the admittedly cute tree photo holder I got as a favor once), and nothing that costs an arm and a leg (cause as much as I’d love to do hand-tooled leather books or something, that’s just not going to happen for that many people!!!).

Thoughts either way??

Published in: on January 28, 2009 at 12:54 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/01/28/the-take-away/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m doing sea salt caramels. I am all about doing creative/unique edibles, because I don’t think that people are going to keep or care about whatever you give them, unless it’s something super special (and usually super expensive) like the handpainted glasses. That idea I love, but I can’t imagine getting that many done by June either. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I found a local supplier for mine and they are probably, with cute little boxes, going to be about $1.50 each. Less if I can figure out how to make them in the next year and a half. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Good luck! I can’t wait to find out what you pick.


Leave a Reply

