Certifiable? Absolutely!

Welcome to the planning blog for my wedding (more about that “my” in a future post!). As you know, I’m getting married to my best friend and favorite person in the world in June, and you’re all a part of it!

I’ve definitely never been one to back down from a challenge, which is good, because I have six months to plan a formal wedding on a $10K budget (you see where the certifiable part comes in).

I will confess to a little bit of hyperbole. The “six months” I have to plan our wedding was six months and two weeks, to the day, from when we got engaged. However, we had the holidays in the middle (try talking to a florist during December about anything other than Christmas), so now that we’re getting going, it’s actually just under six months (yikes!).

We do have a few things working in our favor. First of all, of course, I have the awesomeness that is my amazing wedding team! We have such a talented group of friends, family, and soon to be family, and I know that with your help, we can make this wedding happen! Also, we’re getting married in Delaware, which is…well… Milford is not exactly a bustling metropolis, but it is a little less expensive (yay tax-free shopping!). And finally, this is what I do! I’ve been doing events management for the past six years or so, and I hope I have some idea of how to run an event by now…

We can’t make this wedding happen without your support, though, and that’s where this blog comes in. I’ll use it to share ideas, details about the day, and probably vent a little as my stress level climbs, closer to the big day (and I’m definitely the most laid-back person you know, so I certainly won’t be stressed at all). I hope you’ll comment to share your thoughts and give me the occasional reality check (“No, Leika, you can’t bake tarts for every wedding guest the week of the wedding”). Planning this wedding is going to be a crazy adventure – thanks for agreeing to come along for the ride!

Published in: on December 30, 2008 at 3:20 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2008/12/30/certifiable-absolutely/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

