The Fun Stuff!

So, now…on to the fun stuff!

As I began to think about what I wanted my wedding to look like I discovered that there is such a thing as too much inspiration! Having worked in events for the past few years, I’ve seen hundreds and hundreds of weddings and other events, so narrowing down to one style was not an easy thing for me.

After much deliberation, I finally decided to go with a vintage inspiration for our wedding. I didn’t want a theme wedding, I knew that, but I love vintage styles (Jackie Kennedy and Audrey Hepburn are definitely my style icons!). And then I saw Jessica’s  save the dates on Budget Savvy Bride!!!

Absolutely. In. Love. A new look at a classic shot. Adore!

So, along with this Teussion image from Canal Streetcar, the design inspiration for the wedding was born. Here’s the inspiration board:

inspirationboard
Center image: Teussion via Canal Streetcar; Top row: Martha Stewart, Budget-Savvy Bride, via Brooklyn Bride, AllPosters; 2nd row: seating cards by Laura Hooper, Peculiar Pair Press via Style Me Pretty; 3rd row: Henry Clark via This is Glamorous, WeddingWire; 4th row: Jocelyn Mathewes, image, Jocelyn Mathewes, Modern Day Design 

We’re going with a vintage NOLA (for T) / DC (for me) inspired feel. The colors are ivory, charcoal gray, and ruby red. I knew that I wanted ivory instead of white (more “vintage-y”), and definitely wanted red (for T). And gray is such a big color right now, and I love the fact that it’s a little softer than black, and recalls the charm of old B&W photos for me. Since it’ll be an evening wedding, ivory will predominate (to avoid looking too dark by candlelight), but we’ll have plenty of gray and red touches throughout!

Published in: on January 3, 2009 at 8:40 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://practicallymarried.wordpress.com/2009/01/03/the-fun-stuff/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Love, love, love it, Leika! Beautiful. =)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

